The “Disney-fication” of the Enemy…

mickey-mouse-david-m-cookRecently I was listened to the latest episode of God’s Property Radio, where they interview Russ Dizdar, and towards the beginning of the conversation, they touched upon what I thought was an extremely interesting and important point. Same, one of the hosts of GPR, mentioned how he had heard Tim Kilkenny of Revelations Radio News (another one of my podcast favorites) talking about the “Disney-fication” of the devil, how it so perfectly described so much of what has happened within “Western Christianity” in regards to the prevalent attitude held towards the existence of things like the demonic realm, spiritual warfare and “radical evil” as a whole.

This really struck a chord with me, because it really gets to the heart of so much of what I have myself personally wrestled with, and also encountered as I’ve tried to engage other people, both Christians and non, in talking about things like the “New World Order” or 9/11 or what-have-you. As I listened to Sam and Dan from GPR talk with Russ about it, it just really made sense. It clicked. This is really the point that first has to be addressed, when trying to get someone else to recognize what it going on in the world today. When you are trying to discuss the effects of radical evil in our culture, government, society as a whole, it is like talking to a brick wall, if that person is coming from a perspective where they don’t believe in “radical evil” in the first place.

I confess that it’s sort of sad that I’m so slow to realize the depth of something like this, when I myself took SO long to really come to such an understanding myself, but I suppose that is also why coming to an understanding of Genesis 6 or the “Satanic underground” was really so ground-breaking in terms of my own worldview. Suddenly, through the perspective of realizing that not only is the Devil “real”, but has been so intricately involved in interfering with the affairs of mankind since the beginning, I found myself looking at the Bible itself in a whole different way. It became more “alive” in a sense, more “life and death”, the description of a cosmic battle for the eternal destinies of the souls of men and women… Suddenly, the Bible was anything but a dry, boring book on Theology, but the most mind-blowing and fantastic account of the history of everything disneydevil2I had ever heard. Truly, I suddenly found myself realizing that when one takes the Bible totally at face value, the Truth is most definitely stranger than any piece of human fiction…. 😉

You hear all kinds of knee-jerk responses to the idea of “Conspiracy”. It’s the stuff of loons. Paranoid misfits. People who can’t deal with reality.

Interestingly enough, I have come to accept the reality that if one claims to believe in the reality of the Bible, then one is faced with the most massive “conspiracy” portrayal of all time. Jesus says of Satan, “He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.” (John 8:44) Think about that statement… The father of all lies! From the beginning of human history, in the Garden of Eden, we see the serpent, infiltrating the perfect Creation and using deceit to lure Adam and Eve away from their intended place. After the Fall, God prophesies about the one who would crush the serpents head. From this account in Genesis, through to the end of scripture, where God reveals to the apostle John how the Beast will rise at the end of the Age, we see this “conspiracy” at work, the Rebellion, led by a fallen angel, pulling as many hearts away from the Redeemer as he can.

When speaking with Christians today on the topic of Satan, or the occult, or demonically-related things, the kind of response you so often hear is “Let’s not give the Devil more attention that he deserves”, or “God doesn’t want to fixate on so much negativity, I like to focus on the positive”, or better yet “We shouldn’t have an unhealthy interest in such things, it’s borderline idolatry”… (At least, these are all examples of stuff I’ve heard myself)
We have indeed “Disney-fied” the devil, to the point where he is little more than an generic yucky idea, a concept, a myth even. He might as well be the villain in a Disney cartoon, someone who is part of the “story”, but isn’t something we believe we’d ever have to personally face, and certainly not a literal being who has shaped the nature and formation of a “Christian” country like the United States!

For me, growing up in the church, my concept of the demonic realm, and spiritual warfare, basically consisted of the idea that if Satan/demons tumblr_m2a7ulcFAX1qjszcdo1_5001were to “engage” in influencing people, it more or less just consisted of them somehow hovering over person a making them feel “bad” or “negative” or maybe tempting them to sin. Sort of the “Frank Peretti school of the spiritual realm.” Now, I’m not saying there isn’t a large degree of validity ot that sort of thing (the “flaming arrows” of the Evil One), but just that this is where my concept of what was possible came to a stop. There was really no room to consider the possibility of things like “portals” and “gateways”, ley-lines and spiritual “power-grids” which encompass the globe, thumbantediluvian structures with demonic hybrid connections, or even the basic concept of angelic beings having DNA themselves. Like so many others, I would read passages referring to things like the “Prince of Persia” and go “Huh… Wonder what that’s all about”, and then move right along, having no framework through which to truly understand the idea of territorial angelic beings, i.e. “tribal gods”…

Anyhow, the point is that I have become ever so thoroughly convinced that we are not “elevating” Satan or giving him “undue attention” by speaking out about the reality of his rule over this fallen, temporal world.  One needs only to look at the teaching of Jesus Himself to see just how much the Messiah actually spoke about Satan, about hell, and about how this invisible reality is waging war against us all the time.  We cannot fight an enemy by pretending that he is some cartoonish figure, instead of the Father of all Lies.  The problem with those who object to calling out the Enemy for who he is, and what he is doing, is that they falsely assume that the danger is in making Satan out to be “too big”, rather than the danger being in actually making God too small….

One thought on “The “Disney-fication” of the Enemy…”

  1. Good post, well said.

    I didn’t really grasp the concept of evil for a long time. It was out there, but I got to see a fair amount of human evil when I was young and it’s almost as if God protectively covered my eyes.

    That all changed a few years ago, when God apparently uncovered my eyes. Honestly it was absolutely terrifying. I don’t think people fully realize how protected we are, how much we are sheltered from what is really out there, all around us. In the book of Job it speaks of a hedge being around Job, Job being under God’s protection. If people could truly see what was going on, I think we’d all go insane.

    I tried to talk to several Christians and got the same thing you mentioned, we shouldn’t feed that, we don’t want to focus on the negative, etc. Hey, no kidding, I don’t want to focus on it either, but I haven’t got much choice if it’s my face, right?

    Anyway, I learned two important things. You can trust God completely and lean into Him. Satan’s scary, but God is scarier. Also singing praises is a great weapon for keeping dark things at bay.

Leave a Reply

