Human Shields…

washington-monument-flags-ribbons

Once again the calendar brings us to “Veteran’s Day”, the day which the government has set aside to “honor” those who have “served our country”.

I pray this post is not unduly offensive to anyone reading it who has lost anyone they love to military conflict. That is not my goal. I only ask that you read this in it’s entirety before offering up a reaction.

Perhaps I should start with the caveat that my own two grandfathers served in WWII. They were both remarkable men, who I respected immensely, and through having a relatively close relationship with two figures who did in fact “serve” in the armed forces in wartime, I believe I can honestly say that my opinions towards the “system” as a whole is not an attack on the individuals themselves who have played an integral part in the various wars, conflicts and “police actions” embarked upon by this government over the past century or so.

The men and women who enlist, and fight, and die, do so largely in part because they sincerely believe they arewarposter fighting for the greater good. Sacrificing their own time, energy, family life, and even lives in order to protect and preserve something of great value. The “American way of life”. “Democracy”. “Freedom”…

But sincerity does not automatically equate to an accurate grasp of history, nor the political machinations behind what really causes wars to happen, nor the true depth and breadth of what is really being accomplished through all these global episodes of death and destruction.

Most folks have heard the abbreviated quote by Major Gen. Smedley Butler saying, “War is a racket.” The quote in it’s entirety reads,

War is a racket. It always has been. It is possibly the oldest, easily the most profitable, surely the most vicious. It is the only one international in scope. It is the only one in which the profits are reckoned in dollars and the losses in lives.”

Another quote by this man who “served” is even more scathing:

I spent 33 years and four months in active military service and during that period I spent most of my time as a high class muscle man for Big Business, for Wall Street and the bankers. In short, I was a racketeer, a gangster for capitalism. I helped make Mexico and especially Tampico safe for American oil interests in 1914. I helped make Haiti and Cuba a decent place for the National City Bank boys to collect revenues in. I helped in the raping of half a dozen Central American republics for the benefit of Wall Street. I helped purify Nicaragua for the International Banking House of Brown Brothers in 1902-1912. I brought light to the Dominican Republic for the American sugar interests in 1916. I helped make Honduras right for the American fruit companies in 1903. In China in 1927 I helped see to it that Standard Oil went on its way unmolested. Looking back on it, I might have given Al Capone a few hints. The best he could do was to operate his racket in three districts. I operated on three continents.”

aa-military-industrial-complex-map-of-USIn the “information age” we are living in today, anyone who chooses to do so can easily look into such allegations and discover that this is the sickening reality behind war, behind military build up, behind the stubborn belief that America is really “bringing peace and democracy to the world”. Modern warfare does not exist, cannot occur, without the infamous “military-industrial-complex”, a staggeringly massive infrastructure of companies and government institutions which build weapons, train personnel, and operate bases around the entire globe, and we are told that this massive edifice is an absolute necessity in order to keep us, the “civilians”, safe.

In the 2011 film ‘Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows’, the dastardly aim of arch-villain Professor Moriarty was eventually revealed to be to start a massive war across Europe, spreading across the rest of the globe, whereby he would fund and arm both sides, profiting immensely from a conflict triggered by the assassination of a single diplomat, a terrorist act of his own design. He describes the psychology behind this nefarious plot as thus:

“You see, hidden within the unconscious, there is an insatiable desire for conflict. So, you’re not fighting me, so much as you are the human condition. All I want to do is own the bullets and the bandages.”

Sadly, ironically, (and almost expectedly for those who have studied the correlations between Hollywood memes and the “deep state”), this is almost a perfection depiction of what has occurred behind the scenes of virtually every major global conflict going back well into the 1800’s, as has been thoroughly documented in examples such as the banking exploits of the Rothschilds in the Battle of Waterloo.Plutocracy

Indeed, The Napoleonic Wars, The War of 1812, The Civil War, The Spanish-American War, The Philippine-American War, the “Great War” or “War to End All Wars” (also now known as WWI), WWII, Korea, Vietnam, The “Cold” War, Gulf War I, Afghanistan, Iraq, (Syria…?) ALL of these spectacles of death have been born out of slightly modified variations this same, calculated equation. Bankers fund the war machines. Corporations build the war machines. Politicians sell the war machines. The blood of people “serving their country” fuels the war machines….

Any time you encounter a discussion/report on the never-ending conflict occurring in Palestine/Israel, you inevitably hear the refrain about how the Palestinian “terrorists” hide like cowards in homes and businesses, using the Palestinian citizens, men, women and children, as “human shields”. It is one of the most oft-cited pieces of propaganda implemented in the debate over Israel’s “right to defend itself”, and it is not something I intend to get into now (for it would merit a post of it’s own to give it the treatment it deserves) but I only mention this because to me, it brings it all home in a way that I had not quite previously considered.

We instinctively balk at the idea of a group of militants and killers hiding behind innocent people like cowards, and yet, this is precisely what is done by the War-Mongers of Washington, or the Financiers of Bloodshed, or the Military-Industrial-Complex or whatever else you want to call them, and we the American people help them do it.

How disgustingly ingenious is it, to have managed to both compel supposedly free-thinking individuals into signing up to “serve” in the military, no draft required, to be used as human fodder for an endless litany of profit-producing wars around the planet, and then turn around and use the veterans of those wars as a type of ideological shield, a human smokescreen of propaganda, a cultural defense mechanism against any true and cutting scrutiny of what is propelling this behemoth from deep underneath!

“Don’t speak ill of those who gave their lives so that YOU could enjoy the freedoms you have!”

Don’t you have any appreciation for the sacrifices made to protect this country!?”

How dare you question the official 9/11 story, don’t you have any respect for all the fire-fighters who died trying to save people trapped in the towers?”

Congressional Medal Of Honor Sirius BridgeThese are the kinds of responses you can expect to hear from those who have drank the Home-of-the-Brave-Kool-Aid, who instantly resort to defend the array of American “heroes”, just as they have been conditioned to do their entire lives.

But just how many innocent, nameless men, women and children have been wiped off the earth, through “surges” and “campaigns” and drone attacks and “smart” bombs and “counter-insurgencies” in the last decade alone, under the banner of “Pax Americana”..? I don’t think we’ll come close to knowing the true number this side of eternity…

And on that note, I conclude. Ignorance is not an excuse. Patriotism is not tantamount to cheering on our sons and daughters as they resign themselves to becoming order-following mechanisms of death, because we choose to believe that this is the price that must be paid in order to “preserve democracy” or the “American way of life”. The elite who constantly engineer and orchestrate these geoLightning-Washington-Monument-political “hot spots” in order to prompt the continuous need for further military intervention do not subscribe to any of these ideals of altruism or self-sacrifice or the “greater good”, as they build their vast financial and industrial empires on the graves of people whom they regard with no greater affinity than any other asset or liability on their books, so really the question is, why should we…?

8 thoughts on “Human Shields…”

  1. Oh, you’re going to get yourself into so much trouble, truth 😉

    Honestly, I used to perceive it just like you do and in some ways I still do. There is no doubt that we have a huge military industrial complex and that the elite send somebody else’s sons and daughters off to war. There are power plays and politics and who knows what corruption going on at the top, too. My views on the nature of war haven’t changed much. What’s a bit different now is that I’ve gotten much more philosophical about it all and much more tolerant of human imperfections. It was getting involved in British history that really opened my eyes. No offense to the Brits, but those guys have been doing war, politics, and occupations a lot longer than us. Not to mention all the palace intrigue, outright murder and torture of your own family members, and other assorted atrocities.

    Your quote here is horrifying, but there’s a lot of truth to it, “You see, hidden within the unconscious, there is an insatiable desire for conflict. So, you’re not fighting me, so much as you are the human condition. All I want to do is own the bullets and the bandages.”

    It’s biology at play again, people are very territorial and we really do have an insatiable desire for conflict. I would like this to not be so, but it is what it is. I’d also like congress to stand up and declare war, something they haven’t done since WW2, because that allows scrutiny and accountability to occur.

    Believe it or not, a whole lot of people actually serving in the military understand what’s going on, who controls the wars, as do ordinary Americans. They don’t serve so much because the system is honorable and pure, but rather because they know it isn’t and they’re simply choosing what side they’re going to be on. “The Greater Good” doesn’t necessarily mean good and honorable, it means less awful then the other options. There are quite a few “other options” we don’t want to ever have to live under.

    I wish I could tell you that we’ve evolved out of war, that that human desire for conflict has been over come, but it hasn’t. I’m pretty sure it never is going to be, because at the end of the story we’ve still got “wars and rumors of wars” going on.

    1. “I’m not sure I follow the train of thought which seeks to accept the policy of might=right as a “tolerance of human imperfections”

      Unfortunately, it does. Might makes right. That is the reality of our existence. It’s really lovely when we also remember we have higher selves and insert some morality into the equation, but I’m not terribly optimistic about our ability to do that consistently.

      ” I see it as being more of a question of whether or not we, as believers in Christ, whether as temporary citizens of this country or any other, go so far as to celebrate it, praise it, glorify it. Indeed, worship it.”

      I really don’t know anybody who celebrates war. A few arms dealers perhaps? Most people tend to view it as regrettable and unfortunate, but the lessor of two evils. It’s kind of an interesting debate, what would have happened in the absence of so called American imperialism? Would the world be a better place right now? I honestly don’t know the answer to that question.

      Regardles truth, you know I think you’re awesome and I truly enjoy the ideas you get us all thinking about.

      1. LOL, that’s what I like about you truth, you never mince words. The difference here is that I am perceiving the military through the eyes of those who have been rescued by them rather then those who are focused on the imperialistic side. I have the stories from those who were being slaughtered by the Japanese and the Nazi’s, who were genuinely grateful to see the Americans arrive. I have the stories from those kids in Vietnam, the orphans who were air lifted out at the last minute right before we left. I have the stories from my own family that fled Italy and than France during WW2, trying desperately to escape the fascism of Europe. Then there are the women of Okinawa who went on to marry service members and to immigrate here, who remember what life was like under the Chinese and the Japanese. There are the people from American Samoa and the Philippines and Haiti who remember our troops arriving with food and water after terrible storms.

        So yes, there are horror stories and atrocities and grave errors on our end but there are also the genocides that occurred when we did not intervene like in Rwanda and Bosnia or the long delay before we entered WW2 and the millions who were slaughtered in camps.

        Given the reality of human nature and our propensity for killing each other with or without America’s help, the question becomes, has America been a force for good or evil in the world? Well, for many Americans here safely at home, collateral damage and drone attacks weigh heavy on our hearts, but for those who have lived in the midst of conflicts all their lives, America really is a beacon of hope.

  2. Hi Strange. As I read your post, I was thinking about how few people REALLY know what you’re speaking of. As I thought about it more, I remembered the words of our Lord:

    Matthew 7:14King James Version (KJV)

    14 Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and FEW there be that find it.

    As I continued to think, this is a TRUE STATEMENT on MANY fronts. You might say that the people who know the TRUTH about, just about ANY topic you could name, are the minority. Could we use this way of looking at things as somewhat of a GAUGE?

    Take for instance the pre-trib rapture theology. Most so-called Evangelical Christians believe this. So in light of this gauge that I just mentioned, the MAJORITY is NOT right. Why? Because they don’t know what the TRUTH is. Even though the truth is there to be found, granted, it takes some vigilance to find it. What’s at stake? According to 2Thes. 2; loving NOT the TRUTH will get you “strong delusion”. In order to LOVE the truth, first we have to know what the truth is.

    Many believe in a “pan” rapture! That being; “Well, I’m not sure but it will all PAN out”! Many are CONTENT to have this way of thinking. Is it because they are too lazy to dig it out for themselves? Is it because they trust the preacher or the guy on TV? What’s it worth to know the TRUTH, NOT just about this ONE issue, but MANY more? There’s ONLY ETERNITY hanging in the balance!

    It really saddens me when I think about it. I don’t claim to know all the answers. I don’t think anyone does, but with the Lord Himself as my witness, I am gonna be found looking and digging to find out. It means that much to me to walk in TRUTH. It’s TRUTH that sets us FREE. We will NEVER know what real freedom is until we find out the truth, and I’m speaking of all areas; the most important being – SPIRITUALLY.

    To sum all of that up, what I’m trying to say is, whatever the POPULAR belief is,on ANY given issue, it seems the majority is in ERROR, and should be AVOIDED. Do you agree? And do you think this could be used as a gauge?

    1. Truth is the behavior of Jesus. He teaches us that through this behavior can walk with the Father daily. The core of this behavior is Proverbs 16:3. Scripture that teaches trinity in it’s most basic form. We do not have to wait for the presence of the Father, we just have to invite it. I came up with a work instruction to help me understand procedure of connecting.

      I call it the 4a’s:
      Apologize to get your spirit in position to receive God…

      Ask for his will to see what servitude he has for me today…

      Acknowlege his will so he can walk with us to achieve it.

      Act on the will with grace and commitment…

      This is Jesus walking as one with the Father. If we all practiced this daily, what a change would present itself to the world not only in grace but in bringing heaven to Earth. Because, you see, excessive good consumes evil to stubble. Book of Malachi 4. Yet this is not taught in churches because it is not scripture. Unfortunately to them it is truth. Woman of Samaria; Paul Second Corinthians. The core of the teaching of Jesus dismissed by Biblical exclusion words or words too vague in the most important verse in the Bible. All is told in Matthew 17, the three that are mentioned in the Book of Malachi. God’s will cannot be stopped. And its simplicity cannot be denied Matthew 11: 28-30.

      Feel free to look at my wall and see the spritual warfare going on in my life. fb

      Sincerely,
      Mark Acton

  3. The simple say, “Oh I know all that jazz, but what are you going to do about it? Nothing! We know what’s in coke, or that the symbol on the Monster drink is bad…who cares. Im going to drink it anyway!” I’ve heard people say, “what difference does it make?’ about serious things, but then something crucial to them, like their cable being cut off well hell fire, that aint right!

    It’s this whole, ‘do what thou wilt shall be the measure of the law’. I feel bad for all of us. Those that we deem stupid have just been trapped: they’ve gone to dumb public school, listened to dumb music, dumb tv, smut, drugs and bad medicine. They are trapped and cannot help themselves out. But now, if the Holy Spirit nudged them (and that is something that CANNOT be denied, for GOD has given ALL a conscience) and they still decline truth, then, you are on your own.

    This is why sometimes I think the Church (the real one) must be hidden. Veiled.

    1. Yes! I mean, no one is probably ever going to tell on what you did weeks ago, for that guy or gal or family. And no need to boast about it either. I get sick of seeing people go on and on about how they served the LORD by packing xmas boxes all day for the children in Africa. Ok so you did. Let someone else boast about you. Me— I dont want praise ever. ALL things come from my FATHER, Who enables me to do anything: HE must get the praise. I must decrease HE must increase.

      The Church is to receive power from on high. What is that? We are to be overcomers/overcome! How? Israel is NOW. My past is my past. Yesterday is gone. I cannot fix anything. Alls I can do is repent and cry out for help. What joy surrounds me now? What can I praise FATHER for now?

      What things is GOD allowing to train me as a son? Will I embrace it? I H.A.T.E this world as it is presently. And I still cry just being blown away at the grace and mercy of FATHER upon my pathetic life. Like things for me are narrowing down so much now. For instance I got really impatient with helping my daughter with her recorder lesson. She was being a little strong willed and lazy. But I could see I was becoming impatient. See? It’s like I can look at everyone else and I can look at the worlds systems and yell WHY GOD WHY???? But HE is not going to discuss with me the world. If we truly have a fear of the LORD, we are going to be careful how we proceed, not b/c we fear what man can do to us, but because at some point (AND I AM CONVINCED) in the very near future, we are going to stand before a very righteous, unfathomable KING and give an accounting. STrange, I already know I have FAILED!!! I keep screwing up. I want to over come. I want to be this bold warrior woman of GOD. I am a pathetic lump and I think that that might be ok b/c in THIS world we will have trials, tribulations. Even Paul had anxieties. The Ultimate Healing is coming. It’s coming for all of us. And that is what I aim to ready myself for.

      I agree with your post. (Oh great…now we are officially on The List…LOL!!!) We will press on till the end.

      Peace
      Deirdre

Leave a Reply

