Double-Speak and Paper Fences…

Barack Obama

I guess right now the POTUS is on Air Force One on his way to Las Vegas. Apparently he’s going to speak at a high school or something, and probably talk about his newly announced executive order on immigration. There are a lot of folks around here pretty stoked about it actually. I probably shouldn’t say much more on that though…. (!)

I don’t tend to stoop to the point of picking on poor Barack. Not cuz I don’t think he’s got a lot of stuff wrong, it’s more just the feeling you get from a super boring sport. What’s the point. It’s like getting mad at the pimple-faced assistant manager who is constantly sent downstairs by the CEO’s upstairs, constantly tasked with the undesirable job of telling the working stiffs yet more news that will only infuriate them, sooner or later…

Yet yesterday, I admit I found myself watching the “telly” and feeling sincerely agitated as I watched snippets of Bomb-ah saying stuff that is just patently, horrifically, demonstrably, false.

Did I actually hear him say that there are less people trying to cross the border illegally today than since the 1970’s…?

Almost don’t even know what to say anymore. I basically just stood there and shook my head. It’s harder to decide which is more astounding, the fact that he is now standing before the whole nation and seriously trying to defend his right to make unilateral executive decisions because the “congress won’t act”, or the fact that most Americans actually believe that this is really the first time he’s actually done such a thing.

But rest assured ‘Merica, Obama has promised that if illegal immigrants are found to be “criminals”, they will indeed be exported. What exactly that means is beyond me. You mean, if you actually catch them in the act of committing a crime, you will deport them (so they can turn around and walk back into the country and commit another crime…?), or if you find them to be in “the system” listed as a “criminal”..? How does THAT work exactly, if they are already illegal and thus have no records in the first place?

I suppose I shouldn’t gripe too much. After all, this little “current event” piece provided an excellent opportunity to explain to my kids how the Constitution spells out the three branches of government, and how this is supposed to create a balance. It also provided an opportunity to explain how this has all been completely thrown into the trash bin of history, and actually has been for many years, and they are now only starting to come out and admit it openly.

It’s almost as if all that remains to be seen is if the 1 Amero bills will feature the ol’ pyramid and all-seeing-eye as well…

One thought on “Double-Speak and Paper Fences…”

  1. You’re braver than me, I can’t even watch anymore. This train wreck however, really has provided a good opportunity to teach the kids about the balance of power, the US Constitution, some of the cornerstones of democracy, not that we really seem to use any of those things anymore.

    I really don’t blame the President for any of this, what continues to baffle me if how so many people just can’t see it. Did they put something in our drinking water or what? I must have received a dozen emails after that speech from people telling me how innovative, how eloquent, how intelligent he is. There is just such a romantic element to people’s infatuation, that it continues to puzzle me.

Leave a Reply

