Sometimes, this is how I worship….

There are a lot of ways by which we can express our feelings and thoughts towards our Creator and Redeemer, beyond the usual forms of corporate worship (which is a great thing, don’t get me wrong) Gardening can be worship. Writing poetry can be worship. Lending yourself towards helping out others who are in need or hurting, that is probably one of God’s favorite forms of worship of them all.

For me, as a drummer, you’re used to typically playing along with other musicians or tracks, serving as the “backbone” of the rhythm section, the rhythm itself being fairly dictated by how the song was written, and wanting to be played by the rest of the group (tempo, etc.) Anyhow, something I’ve been getting more into over the last couple of years, (instead of just playing along to pre-existing drum parts in songs that I love) has been the exploration of more “fluid” approaches to playing along to music. So far my favorite thing to play along to in this way is the album “Maybe They Will Sing For Us Tomorrow” by a group called “Hammock”. What I find so compelling about playing along to this, is that every track on the album has such an ethereal, very dream-like quality. There are no drums, guitars, nothing. Just sort of pure ambient feeling. Half the time it’s almost impossible to discern any rhythm/tempo at all, even though they’re in there, buried deep inside the swells of sound.

What this makes for is almost limitless possibilities when it comes to adding drumbeats to such music as this. I could play along to the same song 20 times, and probably never play the same beat, even if I tried. The beauty of it is that it allows me to just “let go”, and let the feeling of the music sort of take over, lead you where it wants to go. There’s a crazy freedom to it. Sure, there are lots of spots in here where I “mess up” the beat, or might even just suddenly switch over from one rhythm or tempo to another, but it’s ok. The goal isn’t to try and be some human replacement for a drum machine, the point is that we as human beings have been created with innate senses of creativity, passion, even unpredictability, and so when I am “tapping into that”, I very much do feel like I am worshipping my Maker in a way that is quite unique from the rest of my earthly experiences….

What kinds of things do you perhaps do, as “alternative forms of worship”…??

6 thoughts on “Sometimes, this is how I worship….”

  1. Lovely post! I really try to make everything I do a form of worship, but some things are not so easy so I drag my feet and do them rather reluctantly. Looking about creation can be pretty worshipful. There’s a lot of beauty in the world so taking the time to stop and smell the roses works for me. I love that bit of creativity you tap into when you’re playing music or doing something creative, That can be a form of worship.

    My favorite kind of worship has happened at sunrise services on the beach or a group of believers at a park. In the olden days the park rangers used to organize a service in campgrounds and they had tiny amphitheaters for this sort of thing. You could have a little service with a group of complete strangers in the midst of the wilderness. That was always fun.

  2. Gardening and being out in nature I can see and feel Him everywhere!!! I guess its part of getting older but at this point I really don’t care what others think. But really I feel worship is a private deal anyways. I have trouble connecting to the sphere that you go to to really worship with lots of people around me. That is probably one reason i don’t go to “church” any more. Well, that and the fact that I don’t feel that God is in the churches any more at this point. Maybe the occasional exception exists but the majority are dead in my opinion. Blessings to all.

  3. I used to love stargazing; when it’s a clear night. Just letting my eyes and senses get lost among all the stars. It felt like a sort of, if not worship then communion of some kind. I don’t know what with exactly; but I would feel a genuine connection with *something*.

    1. I don’t have much ocean experience unfortunately. But there’s also this small public garden close to where I live and a number of times I’ve just totally tripped out just by spending half an hour in that natural environment and really genuinely feeling the energies and the connection to what I guess you could call some sort of ‘life force’. Anywhere where the natural energies and forces are strong and unsullied I guess does the trick: you can feel it in your cells.
      Talking about drumming, I’ve always suspected drumming has that kind of ritualistic capacity to it; I don’t get the same from playing guitar, I don’t think it works the same way.

Leave a Reply

