Pondering the Multi-Dimensional Universe…

multidimensionaluniverse

Something I am becoming increasingly fascinated with as of late is the whole concept of “extra-dimensional reality”. Of course, this is not a new concept at all, either in general or even my own ramblings on this blog. However, the aspect which suddenly struck me as something I had never even really contemplated before, was something I recently heard on a podcast on Canary Cry Radio interviewing Josh Peck. Now, I’ve actually been “following” Josh’s work for a few years now, so I went into it figuring I would enjoy it as much as always, but honestly wasn’t expecting to hear anything all that new. It’s actually a pretty long podcast, with a good deal of late-night-fueled hilarity, but somewhere in the midst of it they actually do get around to discussing some of the topics of Peck’s new book, “Cherubim Chariots: Exploring the Extradimensional Hypothesis”. I’m looking forward to getting my hands on this new release, but haven’t read it yet…cache_7932057

Ok, so the thing that really jumped out at me, was when Josh started talking about quantum mechanics, and how quantum physicists can observe various bizarre things occurring on the quantum level, such as how sometimes sub-atomic particles seem to be able to “communicate” or interact with each other, absolutely instantly, over massive distances of space. This should be completely impossible, since the reactions occur faster even than the speed of light itself. Also, apparently all photons (in the whole universe) seem to behave as if they can all “communicate” in such a way, and are in fact almost as if they are all “connected” somehow. Then, Peck refers back to the “Flatland” analogy, which most of us are probably familiar with by, which is a type of allegorical aid to help us try and conceive of how dimensions higher than our own might relate to the 3-D world. The analogy describes the “Flat-landers”, who are 2-dimensional beings living in a 2-dimensional world (i.e. a plane). To the Flatlanders, they would observe 3-dimensional beings/objects which penetrated their plane as being quite different and confusing compared to what they are, and how they work, in the 3-D world. Ok, so like I said, I have been very familiar with this analogy ever since reading about it in one of C.S. Lewis’s books (I don’t know that he came up with himself, but he at least popularized it a great deal), but admittedly, I now am realizing that up till now, I only ever really employed this kind of speculative extrapolation when it came to extra-dimensional BEINGS (spirits/angels, etc.), and, I suppose, towards the concepts of “higher” spiritual realms as well. I had honestly never before considered the possibility of there being elements and aspects of our own 3-dimensional universe which might “traverse” across dimensions themselves, being not entirely confined to one or another.

And so back to the theoretical example of light. What if Light itself is not something that is even limited to our own space-time? What if in fact so much more of our physical, “tangible” universe actually exists extra-dimensionally, at least on the quantum level, and yet we are for the most part completely unaware of this, because of the fact that of course we ourselves (at least in our perceptions) are confined to 3-D space/time? Could this indeed be (at least partially) why something like light appears to behave as both a particle and a wave? Is this the reason that that the two “pillars” of modern physics, quantum mechanics and the theory of relativity, seem to stand up on their own, yet contradict one another when brought together? Are these questions today becoming irrelevant, or are they perhaps the very things hoped to be finally understood as they continue smashing atoms together in the underground tunnels of CERN…?

Or what about the fabled “Planet X”…? This too is something I am now intending to give some further thought through the lens of the “extradimensional hypothesis” as well…

6 thoughts on “Pondering the Multi-Dimensional Universe…”

  1. Totally cool post. I have been pondering along the same lines. I wonder at times if this understanding comes with age and experience, moments of time, or can we reach that understanding by merely going at it, force learning, what do you think? BTW: May I re-blog it whole for my readers?

    1. Exactly. Hahaha. I think I mean grasping the possibility of perhaps understanding quantum thinking, how’s that? You seem to have a good grasp of it. And thank you.

      1. Well thank you for thanking me for…OK, enough. Hahaha.
        I remember getting excited when I first understood the tesseract cube.

      2. BTW, what do you think of this story, should it be spread? I mean, the world is in such a state already. But these ongoing, multi-countries military exercises do worry me. I thought I’d ask you , as your comment came when i was pondering. So you’re it. Part of me kind of believes that this is a real serious near-future possibility.
        http://www.thedailysheeple.com/jade-helm-15-is-a-false-flag-takedown-of-the-power-grid-in-order-to-quell-all-resistance_032015

          1. Ha, I was just finishing the post. I’m including your comment in the narrative!

Leave a Reply

