Out of the Pit…

All this attention to CERN lately, and speculations over whether or not it might possibly lead to the opening of some sort of “inter-dimensional portal” or allow us to “peek into a parallel universe” or something along these lines, has really had me thinking lately about the topic of the “abyss”, or “bottomless pit” in the Bible.

There is something almost universally embedded in our collective psyche, something so ingrained in our consciousness, in connection to an almost instinctive fear of a deep, dark, pit.

Somehow, it seems to go beyond just the practical fears of falling a long ways and being injured, or being afraid of the dark, etc. It’s a haunting feeling, when even as a small child, you peer over the edge of something like an old abandoned well for the first time, or even walking over an especially large storm drain, with nothing but thebottomless-pit21 iron grate separating you from the depths of a damp, foreboding chasm…

The “abyss” in the Bible was something which, growing up reading Bible stories, I was vaguely familiar with since I had read many times the part of Revelation which talks about these frightening beings which come up out of the “Abyss” during the Last Days:

The fifth angel sounded his trumpet, and I saw a star that had fallen from the sky to the earth. The star was given the key to the shaft of the Abyss. When he opened the Abyss, smoke rose from it like the smoke from a gigantic furnace. The sun and sky were darkened by the smoke from the Abyss. And out of the smoke locusts came down on the earth and were given power like that of scorpions of the earth. They were told not to harm the grass of the earth or any plant or tree, but only those people who did not have the seal of God on their foreheads. They were not allowed to kill them but only to torture them for five months. And the agony they suffered was like that of the sting of a scorpion when it strikes. During those days people will seek death but will not find it; they will long to die, but death will elude them.

The locusts looked like horses prepared for battle. On their heads they wore something like crowns of gold, and their faces resembled human faces. Their hair was like women’s hair, and their teeth were like lions’ teeth. They had breastplates like breastplates of iron, and the sound of their wings was like the thundering of many horses and chariots rushing into battle. They had tails with stingers, like scorpions, and in their tails they had power to torment people for five months. They had as king over them the angel of the Abyss, whose name in Hebrew is Abaddon and in Greek is Apollyon (that is, Destroyer). (Revelation 9:1-11)

I was also familiar with the verses in Luke which describe Jesus’ encounter with a demon-possessed man:

When he saw Jesus, he cried out and fell at his feet, shouting at the top of his voice, “What do you want with me, Jesus, Son of the Most High God? I beg you, don’t torture me!” For Jesus had commanded the impure spirit to come out of the man. Many times it had seized him, and though he was chained hand and foot and kept under guard, he had broken his chains and had been driven by the demon into solitary places.

Jesus asked him, “What is your name?”

“Legion,” he replied, because many demons had gone into him. And they begged Jesus repeatedly not to order them to go into the Abyss. (Luke 8:28-31)

Yes despite having been familiar with these references to this “abyss”, I never realized that it was something that I really couldn’t offer any possible explanations as to just what this “abyss” was exactly, or where it came from… It’s another one of those elements, similar to Genesis 6 and the “Nephilim”, which many people in churches simply scratch their heads, shrug their shoulders, and move on. And that’s fine. Not trying to pick on anyone here.

But for me, when I was finally presented with the explanation of the Nephilim involving the “Watchers” of the Book of Enoch, whereby the giants were the offspring of inter-relations between fallen angels and human women, the “abyss” became another one of these previously unexpanded side-details which suddenly had a very compelling explanation! Suddenly it all made SO much more sense. It explained what this place was, and why the demons in Luke 8 are so utterly terrified of being sent there.

In the Book of Enoch, which describes the pre-flood sins of the “Watcher” angels in quite a bit of detail, Enoch is actually shown the prison where the angels who sinned against God and man were sentenced to be cast into as punishment, and Enoch finds it to be a most terrifying thing to behold:

And I saw a deep abyss, with columns of heavenly fire, and among them I saw columns of fire fall, which were beyond measure alike towards the height and towards the depth. And beyond that abyss I saw a place which had no firmament of the heaven above, and no firmly founded earth beneath it: there was no water upon it, and no birds, but it was a waste and horrible place. I saw there seven stars like great burning mountains, and to me, when I inquired regarding them, The angel said: ‘This place is the end of heaven and earth: this has become a prison for the stars and the host of heaven. And the stars which roll over the fire are they which have transgressed the commandment of the Lord in the beginning of their rising, because they did not come forth at their appointed times’. And He was wroth with them, and bound them till the time when their guilt should be consummated (even) for ten thousand years.’ (Enoch, chapter 18, v11-16)

But before anyone starts protesting that this is not a part of the canon of scripture, I must point out the following verses which are all found in the New Testament, and ask you to consider how they actually would make any sense at all, outside of the very explanation provided by that of the Book of Enoch…

“For Christ also died for sins once for all, the just for the unjust, so that He might bring us to God, having been put to death in the flesh, but made alive in the spirit; in which also He went and made proclamation to the spirits now in prison, who once were disobedient, when the patience of God kept waiting in the days of Noah, during the construction of the ark, in which a few, that is, eight persons, were brought safely through the water…” (1 Peter 3:18-20)

“If God did not spare angels when they sinned, but cast them into hell and committed them to pits of darkness, reserved for judgment; and did not spare the ancient world, but preserved Noah, a preacher of righteousness, with seven others, when He brought a flood upon the world of the ungodly…” (2 Peter 2:4,5)

And finally in Jude:

“Though you already know all this, I want to remind you that the Lord at one time delivered his people out of Egypt, but later destroyed those who did not believe. And the angels who did not keep their positions of authority but abandoned their proper dwelling—these he has kept in darkness, bound with everlasting chains for judgment on the great Day.” (Jude 1:5,6)

Jude is particularly noteworthy, because a little further on in verses 14/15 is where Jude actually quotes directly from the Book of Enoch, and not only that, but references his own quotation as an actual “prophecy”. Jude refers to the words in the Book of Enoch as prophetic. (This fact actually played a major role in my decision to reconsider my previous assumptions on this whole “Genesis 6” issue.)

Another great resource I have found on this subject is “A Survey on the Abyss in the Old and New Testaments” by “Paradox Brown”. Very well researched and annotated. Definitely worth checking out.

bonaccitOverall the significance of the Nephilim-Watcher-Abyss connection is that is really does a lot to reveal how the prophecies concerning the Last Days in Revelation and elsewhere are really very much about the whole expanse of Biblical/world history coming almost completely full circle, where the bizarre and almost unbelievable events which marked the “Days of Noah” are foretold to one day again visit the Earth as it experiences very remarkable events indeed. If we understand all that the Bible has to say about how all these things came about, and the reasons behind, say, who this “Apollyon” character is and why he/it would be so eager to get OUT and wreak havoc upon the Earth, then we are far less prone to be deceived by whatever manner through which this prophecy eventually is fulfilled. It is the deceiving nature of these lying spirits, these “fallen, imprisoned gods”, that is to be treated with the most caution. It’s not about being afraid of some army of “Monsters from the ID”.

After all, when the angel comes out of the Abyss in Revelation 9, the ones whom he and his strange horde attack and torture are those who have rejected God and do not have the “seal of God on their foreheads”…

9 thoughts on “Out of the Pit…”

  1. @truth

    The strength in the buzz re. science fiction today, is the subtlety in how it is presented as ‘entertainment.’

    Why write about dragons unless they were in the consciousness. Then you have fire breathing creatures, and Hollywood jumps on board, taking advantage of peoples interest and fear. Clever.

    The days of Noah; not only in longevity (120 years) but in normality; ie, decadence as new and improved. The scorpions are very real, and George Lucas and Stephen King have nothing on ‘things coming upon the earth.’

    People mock God and grace today, but tomorrow……

  2. Hey man, would really like to catch up. I am horrible at keeping up on the email. I saw you said that you had sent me one regarding the teaching series I was going to do, but I haven’t found it. I had a “svetabrian” email and an “ascendotuum” email. Nowadays it is all “ascendotuum” and I think “svetabrian” has even expired because some apps and websites are telling me my email needs updating. Anyway, let me know (here or somewhere on my wordpress) if you need the ascendotuum one. I’d just really like to touch base from time to time. We seem to be pretty much right on the same page. It just amazes me all that is going on. Seems like the veil is definitely lifting…the barrier thinning…between worlds. There is so much propaganda being produced, I don’t see how people don’t see it. Well, I guess I only see it because of God’s mercy and grace…I definitely wouldn’t have figured it out on my own unless He revealed it to me. Anyway…glad to see you still writing. I think youre right on. Cant wait to touch base. Later.

    1. Howdy, hey…I know how incredibly slapsticky this situation is getting, but I am going to have to ask you email me one more time. I have searched and searched my email and can’t find the one you alluded to (around Jan or Feb when I was prepping for the teaching). I did just realize that my junk box isn’t keeping a big log before deleting old ones…and I hadn’t thought to look there until today…so maybe it for some reason went to junk and then deleted. I have never checked my junk and am now curious what else I may have missed. Anyway, yeah…so much going on in the world.

      I am striving with a guy right now, I guy I go to church with, and he has authored a book about an Islamic Antichrist and he has sorta challenged me to refute him. So, I am currently trying to sure up my view and structure my belief…I am heavily leaning toward a Jewish Antichrist. Biblically, it just makes the most sense…and thematically, it is an amazing thing to ponder. Anymore though, I just think “Why wouldn’t Satan target God’s peculiar nation?” And if God brought Messiah from the Jewish people, Satan would be itching to bring his “messiah” from them as well. A sort of “anything you can do, I can do “better”: sort of attitude that echoes Satan’s MO all throughout the OT. Anyway, hope you get this and we get in touch soon…later. PS: I sent a couple emails to what I believe are now defunct accounts. Hope you are well. I seriously admire and am “at least continually getting” inspired by your productivity in getting info and thoughts and ideas out…I hope to return to creativity and productivity too soon, I am sorta just seeking God for direction and motivation. Been feeling down lately…anyway…later, man! PPS: I am still at ascendotuum@live.com and I am going to try extra-special-hard to check it frequently.

      1. Yes, in fact! I was rather tickled by the fact he is producing content along those lines and it is exactly the info I need right now! I chalk it up to Jesus doing His awesome timing thing. This guy, Mark Davidson, wrote a book called Daniel Revisited and has a blog of similar or same name. He definitely knows his history and his material…and it is thoughtful…I just don’t agree. Love the guy though! He has zeal and enthusiasm…he is a post-trib, pre-wrath-ish kind of guy. He is a blast to talk to in some respects, but he is pretty set in his ways. I read half his book and stopped because it was about to turn a corner and I already wasn’t convinced with the first half…and I was honest to him about it. So he asks me to formalize and structure my position Biblically (a solid request I might add) and I feel encouraged and obliged to meet his request. So, thats where I am at right now. Personally, I would like to make a vid series off my Feb teachings, but am lacking the umph to do it. To answer your question from a while ago…the teaching went over “ok”, I mean the tens of people in attendance said it was very interesting and all, but it seems to have all been forgotten by all at this point and I got the feeling that people didn’t grasp the significance of what I was presenting. So, I kinda feel like maybe I failed to present it clearly…or that just the majority of people are afraid to wake up and examine the world around them…either way…I admit I have had a slump and some mild depression over it. It is wearing off though as I have refocused on the Bible…just yesterday I have set myself to memorize the Sermon on the Mount and will likely get the opportunity to teach about it on the Wednesdays of this July. We’ll see. I do feel however a renewed sense of wanting to “produce” something…vids, anything…for the Kingdom and put it out there. Anyway, rambling…later my man.

  3. All this attention on CERN lately is fascinating for sure, and I agree with you that the Book of Enoch is worthy of our attention, as it evidently was for certain writers of the New Testament.

    I hope you don’t mind if I present an alternate view of Revelation 9 and the locusts/demons that poured out of the abyss (feel free to disagree, of course). I personally believe this was fulfilled in the first century AD, related in particular to the Roman-Jewish War that saw Jerusalem and much of Israel destroyed. Here’s an outline for a post I wrote on this in September, followed by a link to the article:

    “In this study of the first half of Revelation 9, we will see that:

    –John’s vision of locusts tormenting men for five months is parallel to the length of time that Israel was prone to locust invasions throughout its history;
    –This also mirrors the length of the Roman siege in Jerusalem in 70 AD, leading to that city’s downfall;
    –The Roman siege even took place during the same months that locusts would typically invade Israel’s land;
    –Josephus spoke of men longing for death, just like John saw in his visions (Rev. 6:16, 9:6) and just like Jesus said would be the case for the “daughters of Jerusalem” and their children (Luke 23:27-30);
    –The name of this locust army’s leader, Apollyon, is remarkably similar to the 15th Roman legion, Apollinarus, that Titus led into Jerusalem in 70 AD (verse 11). This legion was named after the Greek god, Apollo.”

    Source: http://kloposmasm.com/2014/09/19/israels-5-month-locust-invasion-in-70-ad-revelation-91-11/

    1. Thanks for the questions. Yes, I do consider myself to be a preterist, a believer in fulfilled eschatology. I do believe that all of Matthew 24 and the book of Revelation have been fulfilled, with the possible exception of Revelation 20:7-10 (what a tough passage that is!). That’s not to say I don’t see ongoing fulfillment in some cases, e.g. the kingdom of God continuing to expand, the nations experiencing healing from the river of the water of life (Revelation 22:1-2), etc.

      On your last question, I can’t say I agree. I believe that “the end of the age” prophecies were fulfilled in the first century. I believe the age that ended was the old covenant age, and that it came to a final end in 70 AD when Jerusalem and the temple were destroyed. This was the vanishing spoken of in Hebrews 8:13 (“In that He says, ‘a new covenant,’ He has made the first obsolete. Now what is becoming obsolete and growing old is ready to vanish away.”).

      We can see that John the Baptist, Jesus, Peter, Paul, the author of Hebrews, James, and John were all united in anticipating the fulfillment of the “end of the age” and “last days” prophecies in their own generation. Here’s a sampling from the writers of the epistles:

      Paul: “Besides this you know the time, that the hour has come for you to wake from sleep. For salvation is nearer to us now than when we first believed. The night is far gone; the day is at hand. So then let us cast off the works of darkness and put on the armor of light” (Romans 13:11-12). “This is what I mean, brothers: the appointed time has grown very short. From now on, let those who have wives live as though they had none…and those who buy as though they had no goods, and those who deal with the world as though they had no dealings with it. For the present form of this world is passing away” (I Corinthians 7:29-31). “Now these things happened to them as an example, but they were written down for our instruction, on whom the end of the ages has come” (I Cor. 10:11). “The Lord is at hand” (Philippians 4:5).

      Hebrews (author unknown): “…encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near” (Hebrews 10:25). “Yet a little while, and the coming One will come and will not delay…” (Heb. 10:37).

      James: “Come now, you rich, weep and howl for the miseries that are coming upon you… You have laid up treasure in the last days” (James 5:1-3). “Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand… behold, the Judge is standing at the door” (James 5:8-9).

      Peter: “The end of all things is at hand” (I Peter 4:7).

      John: “Children, it is the last hour, and as you have heard that antichrist is coming, so now many antichrists have come. Therefore we know that it is the last hour” (I John 2:18).

      More such time statements can be seen here: http://kloposmasm.com/2013/07/23/101-preterist-time-indicators/

      Regarding Christ’s coming, He said that He would come [1] in His kingdom [2] in judgment [3] with His holy angels [4] in the glory of His Father while some of His disciples were still alive (Matthew 16:27-28). He also promised to come in His kingdom before His disciples could pass through all the towns and cities of Israel (Matthew 10:23), and to come on the clouds of heaven with power and great glory before His own generation would pass away (Matthew 24:34, Mark 13:30, Luke 21:32).

      So these are just some of the reasons why I’ve embraced a fulfilled view of eschatology. By the way, I grew up as a “pre-trib rapture, premillennialist,” so I’ve taken quite a journey when it comes to this subject.

      A few years back I was entertaining the idea of partial fulfillment which you brought up. However, I’ve come to see that all kinds of types and shadows pointed forward to Christ, who fulfilled them, but not from Jesus’ generation to our future. Here’s a post which I believe shows why a double fulfillment of Matthew 24 (for example) is not possible:

      http://kloposmasm.com/2013/07/22/matthew-24-double-fulfillment-is-not-possible/

Leave a Reply

