2015, The War Game Summer…

I already reblogged this video earlier today, but decided to go ahead and dig around for whatever additional material I could find on the European military exercises mentioned in the video. Here’s what I came up with, and my only added commentary to it all will be in noting that in every single instance it seems you hear a phrase like “largest exercise of it’s kind ever….”

Hedgehog 2015 – Estonia

“Hedgehog 2015, which will last from May 4 to 15 throughout Estonia and culminate in Virumaa, is the biggest exercise in the history of the Defence Forces. Hedgehog is taking the place of the annual Spring Storm exercise, and over 13,000 Estonian and allied reservists, defence league members, conscripts and active military members will participate. The success of the exercise depends largely on reservists, who make up more than half of the participants.

The purpose of the exercise is to check the supplementary compiling of units that are in permanent readiness and formation of rapid response readiness units. That means a lot of emphasis on the formation of entities, including practicing the reception of the mobilized persons. In addition, the 1st Infantry Brigade will practise battle operations, and tactical and operational level management.

Hedgehog consists of three phases: during phase I between 4th and 8th May, the formation and training of the units is practiced; in the second phase, from 9th to12th May, the 1st Infantry Brigade tactical exercise and battle exercise will take place and during phase III (13th-15th May), completion of the exercise and primary care of equipment will take place.

Estonia’s allies will also participate in the exercise, including an infantry company from the UK and U.S. units who are already in Estonia. Belgium and Germany will also be represented by air defence systems; in addition to Polish pilots, who will be present at Ämari airbase. Dutch forces will also participate. Latvia and Lithuania will also represented, but this time will not have separate units…”

These exercises in Estonia appear to be in conjunction with Operation Atlantic Resolve, which involves similar training exercises in countries all across Eastern Europe.

“The US is keen to expand the operation from the Baltic to the Black Sea. Romania and Bulgaria have already joined to create a ‘southern’ flank, while Hungary, the Czech Republic and Georgia could also agree to take part, according to a US Army official spearheading the effort.

“So by the end of the summer, you could very well see an operation that stretches from the Baltics all the way down to the Black Sea,” said Colonel Michael Foster, of the 173rd Airborne Brigade, which is based in Italy. “As you connect countries, there is almost a line of US troops,” as cited by Defense News on March 2…”

Operation Lightning Strike – Lithuania

“The Lithuanian Army is holding its own maneuvers as part of the largest national drills called Zaibo Kirtis (Lightning Strike). The training involves over 3,000 troops. It is focused on joint action by the army and civilian authorities against so-called hybrid threats combining both military and non-military methods of fighting, according to Army Commander Major-General Jonas Vytautas Zukas.

In a statement cited by TASS, the major-general said: “The exercises will simulate situations when the Interior Ministry’s forces and resources are insufficient to neutralize various extreme situations unrelated to the direct repulsion of an imaginary enemy’s attack and the army should be involved.”

Lightning Strike will also be testing the country’s mobilization system and cyber security works, according to the Defense Ministry’s press release…”

Dynamic Mongoose – Norway

“Anti-submarine warfare exercises started in Norway on May 4 with military forces from ten NATO member countries and Sweden taking part in the maneuvers.

The exercises are expected to last until May 13 and involve more than a dozen warships and submarines, as well as planes and helicopters. Photos of the first maneuvers were released on the Facebook page of NATO Maritime Command…”

Joint Sea 2015 – Russian/Chinese naval exercises in the Mediterranean:

“The main aim of the exercises is to further deepen friendly and practical interaction between the two countries and strengthen joint efforts for countering naval security threats at sea,” the ministry said.

The Russia-China naval drills “are not aimed against any third country and have no relation to the political situation in the region,” the Russian Defense Ministry said.

The Joint Sea 2015 exercises will involve about 10 warships from the Russian and Chinese navies, Russia’s Defense Ministry said…”

Also, Varuna 2015 has just concluded, a joint Indo-French Naval exercise the scope of which included “the entire gamut of maritime operations ranging from Aircraft Carrier Operations, Anti Submarines Warfare Exercises, Maritime Interdiction Operations to multi-ship replenishment exercises…”

10 thoughts on “2015, The War Game Summer…”

  1. Coincidentally, I just stumbled across this post a couple of hours after pulling my car off the road to take pictures of a very long train loaded with nothing but military vehicles — armoured tanks bristling with weapons, trucks, jeeps, etc. I have never seen anything like it, and I am 62 years old and have lived in the vicinity of military bases for most of my life.

    This train was being pulled by 4 engines. I tried to count the number of military vehicles it was carrying and lost count at 100. The train was stopped on the tracks a few miles west of Cannon Air Force Base in eastern New Mexico, about 30 miles from the Texas border.

    My husband is a chaplain and a Marine Corps Vietnam combat veteran. Even he is nervous. We were just starting to get used to the Air Force drones flying overhead, and now this!

    1. Thank you for following my blog. I was reading through your blog last night after leaving my comment about the train, and…. I applaud your insight, intelligence, and courage in sharing. I don’t want to believe in evil conspiracies, in demonic activities, in… gulp… UFOs. With my history, I especially don’t want to be perceived as a crazy flake! However, going by the preponderance of the evidence in my life, it is what it is.

      Scary stuff! But thanks be to my Lord and Savior Christ Jesus, there is no weapon formed against us that can prosper. They may kill the body — which is going to die anyway — but not the soul. After going through extreme religious abuse as a child and young adult, I was staunchly agnostic for many years. The Lord brought me back to himself twelve years ago, when I was fifty. Now my eyes are opened and I can’t unsee what I have seen, or unknow what I have experienced first hand.

      I just finished transferring the 31 photos I took yesterday of the war train from my smart phone to my email. Many of them are redundant, as I kept snapping away while stopping every few feet along the shoulder of highway 60, across from the stopped train. After I sort through them, would you want me to email some of the pictures to you? If so, point me to your contact info.

      God bless!

            1. One last thing: before you decide if you want to repost my “armageddon” post, I just added a PS. I want to be sure you see it and are comfortable with it before reposting. Okay, now I am going to go for that walk.

Leave a Reply

