Don’t Read Catcher in the Rye: Linguistic Programming and the Freemasons

Girl, Hand me My Sandwich Board

I read this book as an adult on my own– thankfully I was never assigned it during any of my school years, and it seems I’m in a pretty unique class b/c of that.  I think I would’ve been more susceptible to its cultural influence had I read it when I was younger.  The literary stature that the name alone promised was enough for any culture enthusiast to leave it on their own “must read” list.  Through the years, I can’t pinpoint why, but I felt I should stay away from the book.  I’m a little more permissive with what I watch than with what I read.  It’s easier to shut my eyes; I don’t like to be forced to imagine someone else’s written garbage.  I may have heard here or there that it was offensive, but mostly I just kept getting it confused with Of Mice and Men for…

View original post 433 more words

Leave a Reply

